Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m not really sure if I’m supposed to feel offended or…something else.  I was recently mentioned on a blog about fast fashion.  The author makes the claim that she doesn’t have time to thrift several times a week and that most other people don’t either…essentially saying that I do.  Well, the deal is that no, I don’t shop several times a week.  During the summer I may get to shop once or twice a week, but as soon as I become a full time student with a part time job the shopping is cut down to maybe once or twice every two weeks.  It just so happens that I am insanely busy as a pre-med Russian and Linguistics major, involved in my sorority, clubs, work, and (oh yeah) life (ie my kitchen is infested with ants at the moment).

What’s more important to me is saving money.  My mom is a single working parent who has sacrificed so much for me and my brother.  I am incredibly lucky to go to a great but expensive private college and to receive extensive financial aid.  However, money is still so tight.  I don’t have the money to buy a $20 dress every time I go shopping; $5 is more my budget.  I personally feel that my thrifting abilities are a talent that I want to spread to other people.  And guess what, I am so quick at it that I spend less than an hour when I go shopping.  When was the last time you spent less than an hour in Forever 21?  I’m not saying you can’t or shouldn’t shop at retail stores, I’m just spreading awareness about the wonder that is thrifting.  If you enjoy it, do it.  If you don’t enjoy it, don’t do it!  But if you don’t do it just because you don’t know how (and you want to) then this is the place for you.

If you don’t thrift, why?  Answer in the poll below-

