Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Nifty Thrifty Review

A reader suggested a great idea: review the thrift stores I go to.  WILL DO! And here is the first one.

Urchin
Neighborhood: Highland Park
5006 1/2 York Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90042

Highland Park is a eclectic neighborhood in Los Angeles.  It’s a bit rough around the edges, but it’s lovable.  I have lived in the area for almost 4 years and never noticed this small place until this year.  Today I found a parking spot right in front and so I went in.

Urchin is a vintage store, but I’m unsure if they are a consignment shop as well.  Inside, the store is wonderfully organized with lots of politically charged art on the walls and something that sounded like Middle Eastern zydeco playing.

Outside the store was a $2 sale.  You should always look for something like this at a vintage store.  Sometimes it’s on a rack, sometimes it’s a box, but you can almost always count on a sale section like this one.

The clothing definitely has a vintage vibe.  Most things look like they’re from the 70’s.  If vintage stuff is your thing, this is your place.  The prices are fairly expensive-shoes are around $17, dresses-$15, shirts-$12.  I did find a pair of Chloe pants in the $2 section and several brand name items.  I wasn’t planning on getting anything but then I came across this gem on sale from $13 to $9.  Obviously $9 is pretty expensive for me so I would consider this a splurge because it’s not at all necessary or versatile or anything. (my camera is broken so excuse the bad quality iphone pics please)

 

 

 

 

 

 


I just couldn’t pass it up.  I’m totally enamored with vintage sweatshirts.  I used to own at least 20 that I would get from Value Village in Baltimore for $1 or $2 each.  I got rid of pretty much all of them when I left for college, but this one is hopefully starting a new collection.

So!  There you have it.  My first thrift store review.  Urchin is adorable and funky but high on the price side with very vintage clothing.  If it fits your clothing niche, it’ll be perfect for you.