Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Most of you have probably heard Thrift Shop by Macklemore.  As soon as it came out, everyone was asking me if I’d heard it.  I hadn’t.  It’s become insanely popular and I even heard it on the radio the other day at Goodwill.  I finally listened to it the other day to see what all the hype was about.

Ok so yeah it’s sort of good.  It’s kind of clever.  It’s relatively funny.

But I think it’s probably really only entertaining for the non-thrifter or the occasional thrifter.  For the die hard thrifters, or at least for me, it’s just sort of silly.  He wrote a song about something that is a normal part of our lives.  It’s like writing a song about going to the grocery store or doing your laundry or brushing your teeth…?

Walk into the grocery store 
Brought my own bags, ready for war
I’m gonna get those deals
Rocking my cart like an automobile
Watch out I’ll snag your stuff
Gimme your on-sale marshmallow fluff

Meh, ok so that’s why I’m not a rapper.  But yeah you get the point.

So anyway, props to him for supporting thrifting I suppose, but let it be known that I started thrifting before Macklemore said it was cool.

Listen here: Thrift Shop by Macklemore

