Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

To continue on with the shorts theme… (see my DIY high waisted shorts tutorial here) The 4th of July is coming up, and I’ve been seeing these cool American flag shorts all over the internet.  A lot of them seem to cut up flags and sew them onto the front of the shorts…but I don’t know what the founding fathers have to say about that, so I decided to do a paint version.  Sadly mine didn’t turn out as pretty as the ones in the link above, but they’re a fun patriotic DIY and perfect to wear on the fourth!

Step-by-step Instructions

Image

FIRST OF ALL: I like it when the stars and stripes are on the correct sides, so when you’re looking at the shorts make sure to put the stars on the left side and stripes on the right side (opposite if you’re wearing them…)

Image

Next, place your star stencil over the left side where you want your stars…

Image

…and fill them in with paint!  Be aware that the paint can bleed under the edges.  I started out with this fat paintbrush and pretty quickly switched to a much smaller one to make a finer edge.

Image

You can either do your stars randomly or in a pattern.  I did mine fairly randomly

Image

Next, tape off sections on the right side of the shorts.  You can do your stripes horizontally or vertically…I chose vertical stripes.  Masking tape or painter’s tape would be way easier but I only had packing tape.Image

Paint in between the pieces of tape with either white or red

Image

Now is a good time to do a second coat of white

Image

Then, after the white dries, put on the red stripes.  Don’t worry about making it perfect!

Image

Tada!

Image

Now you have fun and festive shorts for the fourth!

Now, I KNOW I said I like the shorts to look the way the flag does, and I swear mine do but I had to take photos with photobooth, which takes them in mirror image :)  oops!

Image

Feel free to share any projects you’ve done recently below!