Tags

, , ,

I’m addicted to thrifting, and if you’re reading this you probably are too or you’re interested in it.  A lot of people ask me, what is thrifting?  I thought I’d find definitions…

Wikipedia-

Thrifting refers to the act of shopping at a thrift store, flea market, garage sale, or a shop of a charitable organization, usually with the intent of finding interesting items at a cheap price.

A larger philosophy permeates the act of thrifting which celebrates the recycling of formerly-owned items, finding new use and new love for vintage material goods which had been thrown out, and the thrill of imagining what the former life of the item was like.

Urban Dictionary-

When one visits several different thrift shops, second-hand shops, and vintage clothing stores in the hopes of buying several items of cheap and unusual clothing and other items. One usually does this with friends.

best-money-saving-tips.com

Thrifting also refers to the practice of restrained or disciplined spending habits, by means of purchasing goods at special very-cheap stores, purchasing pre-owned goods, love for vintage material goods etc.

Amazingly, these are really the only definitions you’ll find.  ‘Thrifting’ as a word is not in the dictionary.  It is a noun, adjective, and adverb, but ‘to thrift’ is not a verb.  YET.  I think it should definitely be added to the dictionary.  Mostly because I’m tired of seeing that little red squiggly line under it when I type it.

How do you define thrifting?  Do you agree with these definitions?

I'd rather be thrifting